Durarara!! Blu-ray Boxset Arrived! (May 2012 DVD/BD Import Loot Part 2)

Another expensive Japanese anime blu-ray boxset is here! Well other than Kara no Kyoukai’s blu-ray boxset, Fate/ZERO BD boxset 1 & season 1 of Working!! that I’ve purchased anyway, since most of the others I bought have been individual volumes.

Again, I purchased this from Animate’s online shop for the store exclusive bonuses and for a change, one of its store exclusives WILL be available for download on my blog. Check for it after the cut.

Pictures can be enlarged by right-clicking “View Image”

I haven’t actually watched Durarara!! before other than skimming through the first few episodes of it, but what actually made me curious was hearing the first ending theme “Trust Me” by Yuya Matsushita. The song just instantly hooked with me from the first listen. It might sound like a typical J-Pop song but there are certain R&B and dance elements within it that makes it sound so infectious and makes you wanna dance full out with choreography (as shown to the song’s promotional music video) and I’m the type who does dance to full out choreography. Anyway, enough rambling about the song an onto the BD boxset itself.

The set contains 9 discs, 5 of them contain the anime series while disc 6 contains the “Durarara!! in Nakano” festival and the last 3 are drama CDs. Also I’m sure those who did look up this boxset will already know but just in case you don’t, there are English subtitles and English dub available on it, though the price for it is typical to Japanese anime BD boxset pricing (36, 750 yen) so only the hardcore collectors or those with lots of money would be able to afford this.

Two pamphlets that came with its own paper slipcase were included and when unfolded, forms some artworks, including the one used for the artbox.

Now for Animate’s store exclusive bonuses. Two items were listed, the first was a “Durarara!! Kenka” CD between Shizuo & Izaya. Originally when I read the listing on Animate’s page I assumed this was going to be an exclusive PC fighting video game between the two guys since “kenka” means “fight” and the description mentioned that there was going to be two rounds. However, when I actually looked at the disc, I realized it was just their store exclusive drama CD. You’d think Animate would’ve been a bit more clearer and mentioned the disc was going to be a drama CD but they didn’t *rolls eyes*. Haven’t actually listened to it yet and would be pointless to do it first before I’ve even watched the series.

The second Animate exclusive is a special PC wallpaper only available via download from their site through a special link. Initially I wasn’t sure how they’d give this out and thought it’s either through a special link when they send out their emails letting you know they boxset has been shipped or an actual physical disc that you insert into your computer. Turns out that it’s through a special link on their online shop that you receive details from a special paper slip (with a password) to download it. It’s also been explicitly stated on the slip that the wallpaper is only available to download til the 22nd of June.

So typing in the url for the special wallpaper first led me to this login page.

After entering in the password given on the paper slip, I got to the download page which offered three size download dimensions for the wallpaper, 800 x 600, 1280 x 1024 and 1920 x 1080. I downloaded all three.

So you’re wondering what the wallpaper actually looks like right? Well check below.

Now remember early in the post I mentioned that one of the store exclusive will be available for download? Well it’s this wallpaper for all you readers to download! 😀 No need to buy from Animate if you were after this so enjoy! I’m sure it’s gonna get spread around pretty quickly after this but I’d appreciate if my blog was credited if you do share it around.

Animate’s Online Shop Store Exclusive PC Wallpaper Download

800 x 600
1280 x 1040
1920 x 1080

Back to the top.

One response to “Durarara!! Blu-ray Boxset Arrived! (May 2012 DVD/BD Import Loot Part 2)

  1. Wow, I’m glad to have found this blog.
    I hesitated to buy this because the “English Subtitle” isn’t written in the product description of any store website.

    Thanks for the wallpaper and I’ll share your website. 😀

    Like

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.